Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Stories From Grandma...A Book Review

More Stories From Grandma's Attic is Book Two in the series by Arleta Richardson is a sweet and wholesome little book.  I really enjoyed the stories about a much simpler time.  

This was an easy book to read and would be great for a younger reader.  Or for a family read along.   Here's the description from the back cover . . . Every story brings laughter or tears.  And each story proves that Grandma lived in a simpler time, some things about growing up never change.  Every one has a special message  about growing up and living in a way that honors God, and something surprising waits just around the corner anytime you step into Grandmother's attic. 

And from the publishers website: If you are young enough to love a story—and just about everyone is—here are more stories from Grandma's attic. Magical pieces of a day gone by . . . told by that natural storyteller of all loving families—Grandma, the one who never forgets the fun and laughter of a simpler, perhaps richer time.

Stories of an old rag doll that seems to come alive . . . of a newborn goat dancing stiff-legged in the old farm kitchen . . . and of a faith that gives life meaning.
Here are those marvelous tales—faithfully recalled for the delight of young and old alike, a touchstone to another day when life was simpler, perhaps richer; when the treasures of family life and love were passed from generation to generation by a child's questions . . . and the legends that followed enlarged our faith.

Interested check out the first chapter over at this blog review.  (click here)

I really enjoyed the wholesome stories and I look forward to be able to read them to my grandchildren.  I will recommend them to my dil for a homeschool resource or for a great 'read along' book for family time. 

The paperback book has 16 stories (chapters).  Each story is 8 to 10 pages.

Here's the book info. and links to purchase:
List Price: $6.99

Reading level: Ages 9-12
Paperback: 144 pages
Publisher: David C. Cook; 3 edition (April 1, 2011)

ISBN-10: 9780781403801

ISBN-13: 978-0781403801

ASIN: 0781403804

You can purchase at Amazon or David C. Cook

Thanks to Karen at B and B Media for providing a copy for review.
Post a Comment